NE storm brings cancellations & flight waivers

Winter storm Niko may drop a foot of snow – or more – in many parts of the northeast, wreaking havoc for travelers in many parts of the country.

Ahead of the storm, airlines were cancelling flights and issuing change fee waivers for passengers. In many cases, travelers may request refunds for their travel, whether or not a flight has already been cancelled yet or not.

If you have travel booked, be sure to check your airline website for the most up to date policy as the storm moves through.

Here are links to the policies and statements many airlines had posted as of Wednesday evening:

Alaska Airlines is offering change fee waivers for those scheduled to travel Feb 8 to 10 to/from or through Boston, Baltimore (BWI), New York (EWR + JFK), Philadelphia, Washington, D.C. (IAD and DCA). Rebooked travel must be completed by February 17.

Allegiant Air has a travel alert in effect for February 9 for Allentown, PA (ABE), Baltimore (BWI),cBangor, ME (BGR), Harrisburg, PA (MDT), Newark, NJ (EWR), Portsmouth, NH (PSM), Scranton, PA (AVP), Stewart, NY (SWF) and Trenton, NJ (TTN). Allegiant allows changes to other cities served.

American Airlines’ travel waiver affects travel to/from or through more than 30 cities in the northeast U.S. and Canada. Changes fees will be waived if you are scheduled to travel February 9 – 10, 2017 and can travel February 7 – 13, 2017 instead between the originally booked cities in the same cabin

24 airports are currently affected by the NE storm travel alert from Delta Air Lines for travel scheduled Feb 9 and 10. Tickets must be rebooked and begun by Feb 12.

Frontier Airlines change fee waiver currently goes though Feb 9 for NY (LGA), Trenton, NJ (TTN), Washington, D.C. (DCA + IAD) and Philadelphia (PHL). One change is allowed; both origin and destination city may be changed. Travel must be completed by Feb. 28.

Hawaiian Airlines (which was also having an issue with its reservation system on Wednesday evening) has a travel alert posted for passengers flying to or from New York (JFK),  Newark (EWR), Boston (BOS), Charlotte, NC (CLT), Raleigh Durhah, NC (RDU), Washington, DC (IAD) and Philadelphia (PHL). The travel waiver covers Feb 9. Changes must be rebooked and ticketed for new flights no later than February 9, 2017 for new travel that takes place on/before February 12, 2017.

JetBlue‘s travel change fee waiver policy covers flights scheduled through Feb 10 for flights to/from/through 17 northeast cities. Flights may be rebooked for travel through February 16.

Spirit Airlines‘ travel alert covers passengers with scheduled flights to/from: Atlantic City (ACY), Boston, Newark, New York (LGA) and Philadelphia on February 9.

The winter weather advisory for Southwest Airlines  covers 17 cities – mostly for travel through February 10.

19 cities are currently covered under the United Airlines  travel alert for travel scheduled through Feb 10.

And, Virgin America has an alert for flights to/from Boston (BOS), JFK, EWR, LGA through February 10. Rebooked travel must take place by February 17.

Thanks for visiting Stuck at the Airport. Subscribe to get daily travel tidbits. And follow me on Twitter at @hbaskas and Instagram.